Presidents 2017-08-17T15:09:48+00:00

AGC Presidents

Every year, AGC of America elects a new president to lead the association. The president is an AGC member who has demonstrated commitment to the organization along with exceptional leadership and vision. As you browse through the presidents, feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts or memories.


Steve L. Massie (2007)

Steve L. Massie (2007) After studying civil engineering at Virginia Tech, Massie joined the Virginia-based road, site and utility construction firm his father, [read more...]




James D. Waltze (2004)

James D. Waltze (2004) Waltze spent a quarter-century at the helm of the Brea, CA-headquartered Griffith Company, but his beginnings were humble. His [read more...]


Jack Kelley (2003)

Jack Kelley (2003) Kelley retired as president of the renowned Brewer, ME-firm of Nickerson & O’Day in 2007, but remains connected to the [read more...]




Ralph W. Johnson (2000)

Ralph W. Johnson (2000) Johnson joined the ranks at Turner Construction’s Chicago office as a field engineer, actively seeking and absorbing knowledge as [read more...]


Terry Deeny (1999)

Terry Deeny (1999) Terry Deeny, like all the presidents in this illustrious lineup, had already built an impressive resume before assuming the AGC [read more...]


Peter K.W. Wert (1998)

Peter K.W. Wert (1998) “The family-owned business, I believe, is the core of America’s economic engine,” Pete Wert said back in 2002. Wert, [read more...]

100 Years of AGC of America

Learn more about our rich history, celebrate the centennial with us and share your AGC story.